Civil Service Commission


  • Comprised of three members appointed by the City Manager and approved by the City Council to serve for a three-year term with term limits of six years.
  • The Commission oversees employment, disciplinary, and promotional procedures of the Police and Fire Departments under the rules of Chapter 143 of the Texas Local Government Code.
  • Create and adopt local rules, and investigate and report on all matters relating to the enforcement and effect of Chapter 143 and the local rules.

Members must have lived in DeSoto a minimum of three years.

Meeting Schedule

The Civil Service Commission meets as needed. Meetings are held at a City of DeSoto facility.

Staff Representative

Danielle Manning


Louie Bright III

Initial Appointment: 8/21

Current Term Expires: 9/24


Tonnette Byrd

Initial Appointment: 09/23

Current Term Expires: 9/26

James Collier

Initial Appointment: 9/19

Current Term Expires 9/25